Celebrities Helping to Lift the Stigma—We Are Grateful to You!

Every time I watch another documentary or read an article about a high-profile person who is not only struggling with some kind of mental illness, but is also brave enough to discuss it with the media, I’m reinvigorated to join in. They make it look so easy and so right, and for a brief moment I forget that there’s any risk at all to being so candid.

For a moment I think, “F*&k Yeah! Let’s do it, people! Let’s put another face on it. The world needs to hear from everyone who suffers with an illness that claims the life of one of every five diagnosed (from suicide).”

Then I return to my email inbox, knock a few more work items off my to-do list, go pick up my daughter from school and nag—uh, I mean check in with her about how much homework is finished, return to my desk and rush off more edits to my deadline-panicked clients and, before I know it, the day has gotten away from me. I’m actually not trying to make any excuses for why I can’t put more time into fighting the good fight to help lift the sigma of mental illness, or why I’m not working harder to create more awareness about the millions of people we overlook every day that we don’t speak up.

How Many People Have to Die Before We’re All Moved to Act?

Sometimes I ask myself, What if all those AIDS activists in the 80s didn’t march in front of the White House, or take over the subways, or infiltrate the New York Stock Exchange—how many more people would have died?But, sometimes I ask myself, What if all those AIDS activists in the 80s didn’t march in front of the White House, or take over the subways, or infiltrate the New York Stock Exchange—how many more people would have died? What if they just sat around and hoped that the American Medical Association (AMA) would magically start ordering more studies and creating funds for research to find a cure for a disease that was ravaging an entire community and rapidly killing people all over the world? If ACT UP hadn’t converged on the national headquarters of the AMA and the neighboring health insurance companies, many more millions of people would have died sooner, and faster.

I might not be enjoying the company of my two friends who have lived HIV-positive for more than 25 years now because of the drugs that the ACT UP people pushed researchers to move through the pipeline.

Every Face Matters (Some, Of Course, Carry More Cultural Capital)

Today we can Tweet out a call to action or get our Facebook followers to rally people together to fight injustices such as police brutality or government cover-ups. We can reach people through the blogosphere, or post a video that puts a face on a disease to raise awareness. People respond to faces, just as much as they respond to, I suppose, a black and blue dress.

Seriously people, all that needs to be said is Mental Illness ≠ Crazy. MI does not make a person unreliable or untrustworthy or violent.So why aren’t each of us putting our own face, and voice, and story out there? The truth is, I can’t offer an answer that I’m proud of, yet. Stigma is a complicated issue, and a very real concern for many who fear discrimination by employers and family members. According to a 2013 study commissioned by the New York City Metro chapter of the National Alliance on Mental Illness, only 61 percent of Americans think it’s appropriate to tell family members about a mental illness diagnosis, and 43 percent approve of telling friends about a diagnosis.

Seriously people, all that needs to be said is that Mental Illness ≠ Crazy. MI does not make a person unreliable or untrustworthy or violent. Chances are many of the people you watch on a screen, or whose book you’re currently enjoying, or whom you see and interact with every day have been diagnosed with bipolar disorder or major depression or an MI that they aren’t ready to tell everyone about.

From here on out, I will reserve a big chunk of space here at Plucky You to celebrate the growing number of well-known faces of those who are brave enough to stand up and let people know that MI doesn’t have to define who you are.

I am, we are, forever grateful for all of you!

Stephen Fry

Not only have the details of actor Stephen Fry’s suicide attempts been plastered all over the British media, he’s been forthright enough to stand in front of audiences and discuss the realities of living with bipolar depression. If you haven’t seen it, Fry’s two-part BBC documentary, The Secret Life of the Manic Depressive, tells the story of discovering his bipolarity—and is one of the best personal documentaries I can think of on the subject. His wit is endearing, and since he’s been incredibly outspoken on the issue of stigma, I can’t be more grateful for his ability to inject a little levity into a very serious issue.

Currently he’s working with the UK nonprofit Time to Change.

Mariel Hemingway

Seven of her family members have committed suicide, including one of the most celebrated writers in American history, her grandfather Ernest Hemingway, and actor Mariel Hemingway is hard at work telling the public that there is absolutely nothing romantic or noble or normal about suicide and MI. Her recent project, the film Running From Crazy, takes this message wherever it’s shown.

I am a Hemingway and have struggled with depression and craziness in my family, but I believe that we all share similar stories. I want others to feel supported and the stigma of mental illness to be obliterated. The more we have a dialogue about this issue the better for everyone.

Hemingway wants to share another positive message, “it is my belief, based on my experience, that our lifestyle informs our mental wellness is a strong message.” Read Mariel’s interview with NAMI about the film.

Joe Pantoliano

The beloved actor who played Ralph Cifaretto on the HBO Series The Sopranos has started his own MI awareness organization No Kidding? Me Too! Check out the all the media work he’s done on the issues here, but the documentary, which looks amazing, is coming soon.

Zelda Williams, Daughter of Robin Williams

Since her father’s death shocked the world last year, Zelda has been talking about her father’s legacy and, thankfully, inviting people to create a conversation about depression and MI. One of the pivotal messages she’s sending out is that there is no point in trying to figure out why, or in pinning down the real reason he ended his life this way. I’ve heard her say in other interviews that she is grateful that his death has at least sparked some new awareness about depression, and the I would add, the many faces it hides behind.

Glenn Close

We just thought she was wild and irresponsible. In our family, we had no vocabulary for mental illness.Actor Glenn Close’s sister Jesse has been the inspiration for her activism. The Closes have not only spoken publicly about Jesse’s experience bipolar disorder, they break it down into recognizable bits. “We just thought she was wild and irresponsible. In our family, we had no vocabulary for mental illness.” I think what Glenn is saying is probably true for most families. Still, out of this grew the organization Bring Change 2 Mind that she started with her sister to “raise awareness about the misconceptions associated with mental disorders.”

Thank you Close family for spreading awareness and widening the vocabulary. And thank you Glenn for your work in Washington with the Excellence in Mental Health Act. Government funding for behavioral and mental health organizations will help make a difference.

Brandon Marshall

During a news conference in 2011, New York Jets wide receiver Brandon Marshall stood up and said “Today I am making myself vulnerable to help others who suffer from borderline personality disorder,” Marshall called the conference himself to discuss his diagnosis and his struggles. “I have seen my life with BPD and how it played out. My goal is to walk the halls of Congress to fight for the insurance coverage for this, and walk the halls of the National Institute of Mental Health to raise awareness of this disorder. That is my mission moving forward. I love the game, but it’s not my priority anymore. Today my journey begins.”

Jared Padalecki

Actor Jared Padalecki is launching a campaign Always Keep Fighting to get people to open up about depression and find the support they need to fight it. Padalecki, whose own experience with depression led him to want to help others, tells Variety magazine,

Instead of saying “I hope I don’t give in,” I want people to say to themselves, “I’m going to win this fight.” Even if there are a thousand small fights, even if every other minute you’re thinking about suicide, or depression, or addiction, or if you have mental illness, I want people to hit it head on and take action. And to be proud that they’re winning their fight, period.

***This isn’t everyone, of course. I will continue to update the list.

Leave a comment